Logo Design #1

This post will talk about how do I design my own brand logo for my website. It will show my thinking process and the idea development.

I have searched up what meaning of “IKEA” as a starting point for my own logo design. I found out that “IKEA” combines from IKEA founder, Ingvar Kamprad, and the first letter from the names of the farm Elmtaryd and village Agunnaryd, where he grew up. Then, I was thinking perhaps I can do something similar like “JCHK” (Janis Chan Hong Kong) or “JEAY” (First letter of the names of my family and me).

Sketch for Logo (1)

My doodling

 

However, I felt like I am copying others, I should create something unique. Own style, helps people identifying my brand, therefore, I started doodling to seek for inspiration. I was drawing some random objects or things as much as possible and hopefully some ideas can pop up in my mind and make process.

On the left top, it was a cat made with blocks. I wanted to make something in pixel art. The reason is I really like the old games which have low pixel, and you can actually see the characters and objects are filled with colour blocks. An good example is Super Mario World, I will post some pictures from a website (Johanneskopf.de, 2017).

Yet, I did not know what should I make with this style. As you can see, I have tried to make a cat in pixels art style, however it does not look good in hand drawing and I am sure it is not a good design for this style.

Then, I made some more doodles, like toy blocks and chicken in my own style. I even tried to use Adobe Illustrator and see the result. This is the drawing I tested on Illustrator:

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 9.44.40 AM

Using Illustrator, the lines are more smooth and clean. It is really suitable for logo designing. However, sometimes it did not become what I want, and I had to draw it few more times. Yet, I would like to use this one for my final logo design too.

Reference list:

IKEA. N.D. THE IKEA CONCEPT. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.ikea.com/ms/en_US/this-is-ikea/the-ikea-concept/. [Accessed 11 May 2017].

Johanneskopf.de. N.D. Depixelizing Pixel Art. [ONLINE] Available at: https://johanneskopf.de/publications/pixelart/supplementary/comparison_vectormagic.html.%5BAccessed 16 May 2017].

Leave a Reply

