Chinese Clouds Pattern

After looking at The Great Wave, it reminds me of the traditional Chinese painting. Then, I started searching up for the Chinese clouds pattern, as I was taught to draw the “spinning clouds” and it has been used in many Chinese tales.

I have read some Chinese Articles, they show different Chinese-styled clouds. The clouds mean the vitality of life and nature. Also, they are used in luxurious furniture in the past. Since the clouds pattern also mean power and good luck.

This is the link of the article I have read and is the source of pictures above. Although, it is written in Chinese, you can see the pictures of clouds on the furnitures from different periods of time. Some of them are more fancy, and some of them are more clean and simple.

I am now thinking I can try to combine two style, Chinese clouds and Hokusai’s Style, to create a pattern. I have talked to my tutor once, she said I can take a key feature of these two styles to make a new one, for examples, taking one’s colour scheme and one’s drawing style to design a new one to fit in my products. I think it is a good idea, but I am not sure the outcome would be great before I really try it.

Reference list:

Cultural China. N.D. Lucky Clouds. [ONLINE] Available at: http://traditions.cultural-china.com/en/17T69T284.html. [Accessed 10 May 2017].

Primal Trek. N.D. Charms – The Hidden or Implied Meaning of Chinese Charm Symbols. [ONLINE] Available at: http://primaltrek.com/impliedmeaning.html. [Accessed 10 May 2017].

Leave a Reply

