Logo Design Research

Before I start designing my own logo, I am going to do a simple reaseach on famous logo.

I typed “famous logo” on Google, and I tried to think of some on my own. Then, I picked these five. I was also looking at their official website – Adidas, Apple, Lacoste, IKEA, Playboy. Their logos are all simple. Some of them even have a speical character for their brand, some of them are in sharp and bright colour, which makes their logo catchy.

Well-known shoes and sports products complany, Adidas, and also Nike (Not shown in above pictures), they have their own unique logo. How do we normally classify what kinds of the shoes belong to them? Why would we know it when we look at the shoes for the first second? As they usually put their logo, either the image or even their completed logo with brand name on it. When we see a tick, we know it is Nike; When we see three lines on it, we know it is Adidas. Without doubt, they also have their unique style shoes, and even have an unique pattern on shoes. A simple logo and consistent style help branding.

Besides them, for Lacoste, they usually put a tiny cocrodile (their distinctive character) on their products. Sometimes they would put their brand name only. In the beginning, I do not really pay attention to this brand, but I still can recognize the tiny cocrodile from hundreds different brands. I think their logo are sucessfully get my attention. Later on, I am aware of their brand, remember their name. Once again, it shows the importance to get a good logo. I think creating a special character for you logo also is a great idea to make your logo more catchy and arouse the awareness. I may consider to do the same.

However, for furniture, there would not be a logo on it, rarely see any furnitures have a logo on them. For example, Ikea they put their logo on their shopping bags only. Their logo is in bright blue and yellow colours, they are the primary colours, and this combination makes it look so sharp. It is so clean and simple.

I am going to design a logo for my own brand. I will put it on my blog website and maybe I would design a shopping bag or packages for my products with my logo on it. It is my idea at this moment only, it might be changed in the future.

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.30.39 PMScreen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.27.48 PM
Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.27.18 PMScreen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.27.10 PMScreen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.26.11 PM

One of them, Lacoste, the logo for the website are more simple, taken from the original one. The rest of them have a simple logo anyway, so they have the exact same one. I think having a bright colour, or with a special character, as a logo would be much better and catchy.

I have read an article¹ talks about the story behinds each logo, why would they changed bt times etc. I found out all of them tend be more simple. They keep the colour scheme, like Pepsi – red, white and blue, and the design becomes so clean and simple, in some way, it is more “sharp”. For Starbucks, they pick the main characrter, and zoom in and in.

5-starbucks

Starbucks Logo

In that articles, it shows more different exmples, the changes of their logo, you can have a look. I am more convinced that, a simple logo with a specific colour would get more attention to your brand, and easier to remember it. I would look at these logo, and start thinking of mine.

Source:
[1] Great Stories Behind Popular Logo Evolution

Leave a Reply

